Professional Nursing Awards

The Professional Nursing Awards will relaunch in 2020! 

We are currently working with members to update, innovate and streamline the Awards to ensure nurses have the best opportunity to be recognized for their outstanding contributions to nursing practice. 

Nominations will launch in the new year and winners will be recognized at the Celebrating Excellence Reception, which will take place during Nursing Week, May 11-17. 

2018 Award Winners 

Congratulations to the 2018 Professional Nursing Award winners. These nurses and teams have demonstrated excellence and innovation in their practice and been recognized by their peers for this accomplishment. 

Award of Excellence - Clinical Nursing Practice: community/programs 

This award is presented to registered nurses in a point of care/frontline position who consistently demonstrate expertise and evidence informed clinical practice.  

Rachel Klassen Huebner
Jennifer Osachuk

Award of Excellence - Nursing Administration

This award is presented to registered nurses who exemplify transformational leadership qualities and promote a culture of innovation and practice excellence. 


Dr. Jo-Ann Sawatzky
Jennifer Spencer

Award of Excellence - Nursing Education

This award is presented to registered nurses who practice as a nurse educator in a college/university or clinical setting and demonstrate teaching excellence by encouraging critical thinking and innovation. 

Tracey Fallak

Award of Excellence – Nursing Research

This award is presented to registered nurses who promote the value of nursing and enhance the body of knowledge related to the art and/or science of nursing. 

Winner: Dr. Donna Martin

Emerging Leader Award

This award is presented to registered nurses in clinical practice who entered the profession as an RN within the past five years, demonstrates excellence in his/her practice area, outstanding communication and promising leadership qualities. 

Paige Procter